From Field Theory to Non-Equilibrium
Conference on Mathematical Physics in honour of
Krzysztof Gawędzki
on the occasion of his 70th birthday
June 19, 20 & 21, 2017, Laboratoire de Mathématiques J.A. Dieudonné, Nice, France

The Conference will be held from June 19th through 21st, 2017 at Laboratoire de Mathématiques J.A. Dieudonné of Université de Nice — Sophia Antipolis in Nice, France. Its main scientific objective is to bring together physicists and mathematicians representing the vast scope of Krzysztof Gawędzki's research interests. In this manner, we wish to honour our long-time collaborator, colleague, teacher and friend.

All researchers interested in the topics covered by the lectures of the Conference are welcome.

The list of invited speakers includes

Organisers: Jérémie Bec (Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur), Denis Bernard (ÉNS-Paris), Cédric Bernardin and Raphaël Chetrite (Université de Nice — Sophia Antipolis), Antti Kupiainen and Paolo Muratore-Ginanneschi (University of Helsinki), Rafał R. Suszek (University of Warsaw)

Details of timing and topography


June 19-21, 2017


Salle de Conférence, Laboratoire de Mathématiques J.A. Dieudonné of Université de Nice — Sophia Antipolis

Address: Parc Valrose, 28 Avenue Valrose, 06108 Nice Cedex 02, 06000 Nice, France


Participants will be lodged at two nearby hotels: Hôtel Monsigny Nice and Hôtel Villa Saint-Hubert.

Directions to and from the hotels can be read off from the maps below.

Hôtel Monsigny Nice Hôtel Villa Saint-Hubert


June 19 (Monday) June 20 (Tuesday) June 21 (Wednesday)
9:00–9:45 S. Ciliberto R. Rhodes
9:45–10:15 Registration Coffee break Coffee break
10:15–11:00 Registration Y. Brenier M. Vergassola
11:15–12:00 G. Falkovich S. Majumdar G. Jona-Lasinio
12:15–13:00 J.-P. Eckmann Lunch J. Wehr
13:15–14:00 Lunch Lunch Lunch
14:15–15:00 Visit to Musée Matisse F. Falceto E. Peltola
15:15–16:00 Visit to Musée Matisse C. Tauber U. Frisch
16:15–17:00 D. Sullivan Coffee break Coffee break
17:00–17:45 Coffee break L. Chevillard
18:00–18:45 K. Mallick F. Bouchet
20:00+ Conference dinner I Conference dinner II

On Monday and Tuesday, lunch will be served at the Laboratoire. On Tuesday, on the other hand, we go for lunch to Centre des Finances — Centre des impôts à Nice in 22 Rue Joseph Cadei.

The venue of the conference dinner on Tuesday is La Baie d'Amalfi. That of the Monday outing will be specified soon.

To those of you who wish to extend their adventure with la cuisine niçoise beyond the conference programme, we suggest an amiable restaurant not far from either of the hotels, amiable and good value for money: Brasserie-Restaurant de L’Union.

On Monday, we visit Musée Matisse.

Talks — titles & abstracts


A high-resolution version of the poster for this conference:

in the PNG format is available under this link.


  1. Erik Aurell (KTH Stockholm)
  2. Michel Bauer (CEA, Saclay)
  3. Jérémie Bec (Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur)
  4. Denis Bernard (ÉNS-Paris)
  5. Cédric Bernardin (Université de Nice — Sophia Antipolis)
  6. Freddy Bouchet (ÉNS-Lyon)
  7. Yann Brenier (École Polytechnique, Paris)
  8. Patrick Cassam-Chenaï (Laboratoire de Mathématiques J.A. Dieudonné, Nice)
  9. Raphaël Chetrite (Université de Nice — Sophia Antipolis)
  10. Laurent Chevillard (ÉNS-Lyon)
  11. Sergio Ciliberto (ÉNS-Lyon)
  12. Didier Clamond (Laboratoire de Mathématiques J.A. Dieudonné, Nice)
  13. Jean-Pierre Eckmann (Université de Genève)
  14. Fernando Falceto (University of Zaragoza)
  15. Gregory Falkovich (Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot)
  16. Julien Fausty (MINES ParisTech, Paris)
  17. Giovanni Felder (ETH, Zürich)
  18. Uriel Frisch (Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur)
  19. Jürg Fröhlich (ETH, Zürich)
  20. Antti Kupiainen (University of Helsinki)
  21. Giovanni Jona-Lasinio (Sapienza – Università di Roma)
  22. Satya Majumdar (Université de Paris-Sud, Orsay)
  23. Kirone Mallick (CEA, Saclay)
  24. Paolo Muratore-Ginanneschi (University of Helsinki)
  25. Bastien Nony
  26. Frédéric Patras (Laboratoire de Mathématiques J.A. Dieudonné, Nice)
  27. Eveliina Peltola (Université de Genève)
  28. Hélène Politano (Laboratoire de Mathématiques J.A. Dieudonné, Nice)
  29. Rémi Rhodes (LAMA-Université Paris-Est, Marne La Vallée)
  30. Thomas Spencer (IAS, Princeton)
  31. Dennis Sullivan (CUNY Graduate Center ∧ Stony Brook University)
  32. Rafał R. Suszek (University of Warsaw)
  33. Clément Tauber (ETH, Zürich)
  34. Massimo Vergassola (University of California, San Diego)
  35. Jan Wehr (University of Arizona, Tucson)


In case of further questions or remarks, do not hesitate to send an e-mail to Raphaël Chetrite <rchetrit at>.