Zdzisław Szymański Prize

Warsaw, November 17th, 2021

We are pleased to inform that the Zdzisław Szymański Prize for the year 2021 has been awarded to

Dr Steven Ragnar Stroberg
from Physics Division, Argonne National Laboratory, Lemont, IL, USA

The Prize has been awarded to the Laureate

for crucial developments to extend ab initio theory to the structure of large nuclei, and for his contributions to the solution of a long-standing puzzle regarding Gamow-Teller beta-decay rates.

According to the Prize Regulations, the Prize consists of a certificate citing the contributions made by the Laureate and of a honorarium for the lecture delivered by the Laureate.

dr hab. Agnieszka Korgul prof. Robert Grzywacz
Secretary of the Selection Committee Chairman of the Selection Committee

This Prize is awarded every second year to one individual for outstanding accomplishments in the area of theoretical or experimental studies of the properties of atomic nuclei.
The Prize is awarded by the Dean of the Faculty of Physics of the Warsaw University, based on the recommendations of the Selection Committee of the Prize.
Detailed guidelines can be found in the Bylows.

The Prize is financed by contributions from individual persons and institutions who want to support the development of nuclear physics. You can become the founding member by making a gift right now. The donations can be made by mailing a check (payable to Fundation “Pro Physica”) or a bank transfer to the account:

Fundacja “Pro Physica”
Al. Lotników 32/46, 02-668 Warszawa
Bank Zachodni WBK S.A.
Bank address: Bank Zachodni WBK S.A., Rynek 9/11, 50-950 Wrocław, Poland
Acc no: 65 1500 1012 1210 1007 8486 0000
Important: indicate “Nagroda im. Z. Szymańskiego”

Please inform the Committee about your donation; the Board will send you an email confirming that we have received your donation and a letter of appreciation. Also, please let us know whether you would like your name to be posted on the list of Honorary Founders.

TRW (Tomasz Werner AT fuw edu pl)